Clever Titles Are Hard

Excerpt from Julia Eshleman’s personal blog “Julia Nicole Eshleman” Julia is a Spring 2017 student from Messiah College. Reproduced with permission.

Okay, this is embarrassing. I wanted to write a post every other week… and five weeks have gone by since my last writing. Whoops.

There has been so, so much going on, and therefore, there will be a lot of skimming in this blog post. But tonight I have time to write, since my midterms are finally done (woohoo!).

Although I have only traveled within a few hours of my home so far, I feel like I’ve been to lots of new places in the past month. One of the most educational examples of this was when our entire Aboriginal culture class went to Stradbroke Island for a fiDSC_0405_editeld trip, and we were taught dances, practices and history from First Nations tribe members who knew our lecturer, Lea. Indigenous Culture, which I knew absolutely nothing about prior to coming here, is both fascinating and heartbreaking. As I learn more about the ways in which colonization has hurt this ancient, magical sort of people group, I have gained so much respect for Australian Aboriginal people; the way they view the spiritual realm, the land, and the connection between tribes is beautiful.

Stradbroke has some of the best views I have ever seen. It’s a small island; picture cliffs, brilliant waves, and very few businesses. I hope to head back to Straddie to go whale watching in the fall before I leave if I can(If you know me well, you will know exactly how I might feel about whale watching).

Although people ask me all the time if I get homesick, the sickness that worries me most is actually how I’m going to feel when I have to leave Australia in two months. There is just so much that I’m leaving behind. I’m going to miss watching the sunset in my backyard through the dining room window, and walking home from school. I’m going to miss singing worship songs at my church, and spending time with my friends. I’m going to miss having tea with the kind people at my service placement, and I’m going to miss eating dinner with my host family.

This is why even though I definitely miss parts of Montana and Pennsylvania life frequently, I cannot wish my time away. I know that I will go home in two months, unless something very dramatic were to happen. However, I don’t know if or when I will ever return to Australia. The thought is sad, but it influences me to be content in my circumstances- that thought and, of course, the fact that my circumstances are pretty sweet. There are times when I’m sad, or I miss people, but I could not possibly ask for a better place to be.

I’m actually going to write another blog post soon about my Spring Break trip to the Great Barrier Reef, so stay posted 🙂 As always, you guys should know that you can text, FaceTime, or email me whenever, and I love to hear from my friends in the states (or family members!) Thanks for being willing to listen to me ramble on yet again. I love you guys!

Leave a Reply

