The One With All the Goodbyes

Excerpt from Rebecca Beth’s personal blog “Australian Adventures.”  Becca is a spring 2015 ASC student from Taylor University. Reproduced with permission.

Tomorrow is my last full day in Australia. Where did the time go?? It’s hard to believe that I’ve been in this beautiful country for almost four months. The reality that I’m leaving hit me on the bus today when I realized that no longer will public transportation be my main method of traveling and that I might never travel that same bus route again.

Leaving is bittersweet. I’m very excited to go home and see my family and friends again, but at the same time, I’ll miss Australia. I’ll miss the blue skies, sunshine, and warmth (it’s been in the 70s and sunny…and it’s winter…how?! Indiana, please observe and learn from Australia). I’ll miss searching the trees for koalas and the river for sharks (Yes, even the river has sharks. I’m telling you, everything here can kill you). I’ll miss Australian accents and hearing people call each other “mate.” I’ll miss all the people I’ve met and all the friends I’ve made. I’ll even miss taking the bus and secretly laughing at everyone riding the bus wearing a winter coat, mittens, a scarf, a hat, and Uggs (It’s 70 degrees people. What are you doing with your lives?).

I’ve learned a lot here. I’ve been challenged in the way I think about things and the values I hold. It’s been such an interesting experience living and studying in a different country. Learning about and living in the Australian culture has been fascinating. I am so thankful that I had the opportunity to come here.

But my time here is up for now. It’s time to return to America and continue my journey. I’m excited for what the future holds. I’m excited to start my internship in Wisconsin, to be back at Taylor next semester, and to see where God leads me from there.

Goodbye for now, Australia. I hope to see you again. Stay sunny, Brisbane.

O lands! O all so dear to me—what you are, I become a part of that, whatever it is.

~Walt Whitman

My favorite part of my bus route from school

My favorite part of my bus route from school

How cute is this little guy! Apparently it's called a pademelon

How cute is this little guy! Apparently it’s called a pademelon

I'm going to miss this cutie

I’m going to miss this cutie

Weekend trip to Sydney!

Weekend trip to Sydney!

Leave a Reply

