Country Not My Own

Excerpt from Fall 2014 student Sammie Oh’s blog “Ink Spot: A speck in the universe“. Reproduced with permission.

With only two weeks left in Australia, I’ve finally written a poem about being here.

 Country Not My Own

Australia, Australia,
Could I have ever known,
Just how much I’d love thee,
Oh country not my own?

Can three months truly justify,
What fondness I have grown,
For sidewalks lined with gum trees,
And Jacarandas sown?

I could swim with jellyfish,
In oceans opal blue,
Or watch the outback sunset,
With wallaby and ‘roo.

Red dirt bakes with billabongs,
Under the blazing sun,
But coastal waves are clear and cool,
And I hear, the surfing fun…

But there’s a rue inside of me,
And I’ve felt it there before,
Persistent, though, a bit subdued,
An ache I can’t ignore.

Ah, America, America!
I miss thee my sweet home.
How I long to trod your soil,
No matter where I roam.

All your wonders, all your woes,
Your men, your air alone,
Is sweet enough a memory,
To draw a mournful moan.

And so escapes from deep within,
As one is often prone,
The gentle cry of living in,
A country not my own.

-Sammie Oh

One thought on “Country Not My Own

Leave a Reply

